Thursday, November 17, 2005

DAM!

I just got out of my Intro to African American Studies class. It fills a University "diversity" requirement and it was either this or Women's Studies. However, I heard the instructor for W.S. is this crazy, rabid lesbian who wants to castrate all males. So, in lieu of that I opted for Afro-Am. I thought I would hate it, but it has actually been a really thought provoking class. My friends tease me for my "white-guilt" every time I get out of it, but I can't help being all emotional. We watch movies like "Rosewood" and "Glory" and its hard not to bawl after those. The instructor presents interesting information from a new perspective. In college, you really do enter into a market place of ideas. She erased all the politics, rhetoric, and sensitivity that usually surrounds talk about race. I feel more empathetic towards the historical suffering and climb towards equality that black people had to go through. However, I was never made to feel like I myself did something wrong or am bad for being white (my ancestors are totally scot-free! we never lived in the South! We came over from Germany and the Germans never...wait...oh nevermind.). The class was about seeing and admitting an ugly and painful past, and looking towards the present and seeing how things have changed for the better and will continue to do so. I'm glad I took it, staying in ruts or not looking at new perspectives is a bad way to live.
Speaking of ruts, I decided to start jumping out of my bed loft because climbing down was getting old. I found out it is higher up than it looks, and if you hit solidly on your feet it hurts really bad. So, I jump and bend my knees, or I adopt the jump down and roll method when Rachel is around becuase she thinks I am weird anyway.
Also, I am going to Denver with my Art club this weekend. We will walk around the Denver Art Museum and be pretentious. Actually, my artist group is really down to earth and I think this'll be really fun. The best part is they give you little buttons that say "DAM" and it is fun to point at them on other people and yell, "DAM!" Ah, never gets old.

1 Comments:

At 12:53 AM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Molly, you are wonderful! I was gonna mention how it was kinda funny that you spelled your title wrong...then I got to the end. And I get it. We oughta hang out soon. Like during our mini-break they like to call Thanksgiving break. Yeah.

 

Post a Comment

<< Home