Friends

I am starting to think the social aspect of college is more challenging than the academic. There is so much strife over maintaining friends, getting along with roommates, and all the many problems with the opposite sex. There are so many types of people here and it is sometimes like high school to the N-th degree. We are somewhat older and more mature, but we have no supervision, all kinds of vices, and no "home" to go home to. College is in our faces constantly, which is good and bad. We are forced to figure out how to handle people, deal with difficult situations ourselves and discover what kind of people we are. I like to think I am doing a good job with all this stuff, but it gets crazy sometimes.
My good friends help me out and keep me grounded and they become like family. Some of them live far away, but a lot live right here. I thought when I left home I wouldn't get teased anymore, but it happens here tenfold. From things like, "Molly Pox" (Cait called me this when I got shingles) to "Spaztistic," (The way Justin came up with for my friends to describe my weirdness) to having crazy competitions like seeing who can get the lemon seeds out of their ice water in restaurants with only their straw (John is the most competitive human being on the planet)...and I won't even get into all the crap Steven gives me... Friends are interesting because they are like family, only you get to pick them. Sometimes they drive me crazy and I know I get in fights with them a lot (sorry for the temper), but I love you all so much. The picture is of me and my friends John, Petey and Justin (yes, I hang out with a lot of boys). It was taken when we went to CSU for the Border War, and it was so much fun.
Wow, am I ever getting sentimental.
***Just for updates, I figured out how to change the setting so you can comment without having to register for the site.
***Jeff-I don't know who that fat woman was. There do, however, seem to be many of them in tourist areas in San Francisco. :-) Also, I'll be in France from January 14th to sometime in mid-May.

1 Comments:
Inherit the Wind blogging
Inherit the Wind blogging: This morning, Paul Chenoweth is asking what people are doing with their " geekend ." Apparently, some bloggers watch TV on Saturday mornings.
You have done a great job on your blog, I have one you might be interested, Radio Memories, it is about old time radio, at ##OTR##
Post a Comment
<< Home