DAY ONE

Bonjour! ( I have to say that now since I am in France.) So far, I have been quiet, and a wee bit melancholy. I wish my friends and family sucked because they make it really hard to say goodbye. It has finally sunk in that I decided to go live in a foreign country for 5 entire months. However, I need to get over myself sadness at leaving and be excited.
The bad thing about international travel is the planes. 11 total hours in the air, plus even more on the ground have left me drained. I am good at sleeping on planes, and listening to Coldplay is like a sleep-inducing drug (Nothing against Coldplay, they are just very relaxing and don’t yell and curse like most of the other bands on my iPod).
When we arrived in Paris, it was 7am and still dark. We gathered luggage and made it over to our hotel. I chatted with our very friendly cabdriver in French, and it made me feel a lot better about my language skills. I really have learned a lot in the last couple years! It works to dispel some of my anxieties.
here is our arrival to the Hotel Brighton.Also, I fell in love with Paris all over again. It really is the most beautiful city in the world, but full of the most horny couples I have ever seen. They were making out all over the place and in my lack-of-sleep, jet-laggy state I wanted very much to shove them down the steps of the Notre Dame. However, the sheer abundance of extremely attractive French boys has done a lot to improve my good humor.

The lovely St. Chappelle!
With my mom and Elizabeth (my mom’s friend), we toured the Notre Dame, the St. Chappelle and got food in a nice little café. I drank a cidre and toasted Erin Catellier. Ordering alcohol in a restaurant at the ripe old age of 19 never gets old.
After that, Mom and Lizzie went down to the Champs-Elysee and I stayed in the room and tried not to fall asleep. I thought I was doing a good job until I woke up drooling on my hand after having a weird dream that involved me, Becky, Steven, Erin and a duck. Tomorrow is another full day of sightseeing in Paris before we head down to Tours. I am beyond tired and need some sleep.


Also, yay to the Broncos!!!! We called home right after we landed in Paris to get the score of the game. It is good when the underrated Broncos positively spank the terribly overrated Patriots. It looks like I might just have to find a place over here to watch a Broncos Superbowl.

4 Comments:
Great pictures!
Molly, I had some problem getting into your blog, and thought oh, no I am going to miss it all. But found the new "write ups" and loved them. I know you will have such a great time. You are already. Keep writing, email me once and a while and be sure to send pictures. Love you
Ha ha, yeah I agree with Steve, I want hear more about this duck. And Steve, kudos to you for the Dane Cook quoting!
And Molly, you so never gave me his second CD before you left! I forgot till now, and now I am mad at you. French jerk.
Just kidding, hugs and kisses even though you are prickly...
Molly! I wish i could have been in Paris drinking Cider with you! Its good to know that I'm on your mind since you were dreaming about us all!! Was the Nutcracker in your dream too? Miss ya!
Post a Comment
<< Home