Jeudi
Hello all!Today is kind of a down day. I only have two classes and lots of time between them. I am learning that spare time is no fun because I have a tendency to get homesick. Also, I kept having really bizarre dreams last night and didn’t sleep really well. It’ll get better when my classes get rolling and I have more homework. (Can you believe I am looking forward to homework?!)
Things here are looking up everyday. The life here is much more simplified than at home, partly because of the laid-back culture and partly because I have a lot less to do! Here I have no cell phone, little Internet and very few friends. At first, I hated this because at home I am busy and with friends and clubs and everything TOUT LES TEMPS!! (all the time!) But now, I am starting to like it. I have one very good friend here (Chiquita) to do things like shop and eat with. She and I have similar tastes, etc and have been getting along perfectly. The thing I figure is, I am only living here for 4 1/2 to 5 months and then I am returning to all my lifelong friends. I may make acquaintances here, but I don’t need to build a social network like I have at home because it’ll be gone soon. With all that pressure gone, I am free to relax and enjoy life more (Plus French kids are kind of snotty).
Last night was really fun because Anna (Chiquita; she has two names) and I went shopping after my class got out and found a big grocery store on the main street right by Jean-Jaures (a main bus stop that goes to our dorm). Lots of the food is very foreign or in weird combinations (pear and potato soup, for example) and when you do recognize something from back home it is way expensive. I am learning to find the food made locally, it is usually delicious and inexpensive. (Local jam that is the best I’ve ever had for 2 Euros, and a whole wheel of Camembert cheese for only 1.50 Euros!!) French grocery stores focus more on fresh food than things that last awhile. This makes the food incredible, but hard when you are a college student used to convenient ramen noodles. I am already getting into the very French habit of picking up a baguette on the way home to have with dinner and for breakfast the next morning. Last night, we decided to cook a big dinner and bought spaghetti, spag. sauce, salad and dressing, fresh tomatoes, fresh bread, cheese, and a bottle of local wine. We rode the bus back and I am proud to say I did the spaghetti cooking and did a fine job. Our dinner was delicious and we decided to do this once a week.
Also, we are making plans to do some traveling around the area. We found a posting with really cheap train fares to places like Prague and Rome. French college students tend to go home every weekend and it makes things very quiet around here.
Also, I saw two little old ladies yesterday walking down the main street with matching clothes, haircuts, etc. and I really missed Becky for awhile. They were so incredibly cute. We need to be like that when we are all old.
Also, felicitations (congratulations) to Roxanne for getting moved up to the Sophomore basketball team! I was so glad to hear that since she had the suckiest coaches in the world and she kicks ass at B-ball. I wish I could see you play Roxie, but I will next year. I heart you!
Also, thanks so much to all of my family and friends who regularly post comments. It is the best part of my week when I get to log-on and read those. I miss you all too!

8 Comments:
Now this is more like it Molly. A little more laid back and "smelling the roses". Sounds like education AND fun. Thank Chiquita for us for making things better for you. I sent a journal today, watch for it. Hope I have the address right, it was sort of a strange one. Keep writing. It is all pretty interesting. Love you.
Hey molly
Wow thank you very much for that congrats. I am very excited but very nervous that i have moved up. Now I am REALLY the smallest and fastest on the team. Well i am really glad that things are starting to look up and that you are having a better time and getting settled in. Keep up with the happy posts or I won't comment again! hehe but yeah. Thank you again molly and i love you SOOOO much!
I, also, am glad to read a happy post.
What does "jeudi" mean?
And maybe the French kids aren't snotty, they are just shy and reserved and come across as snotty? It seems to apply to girls in my science classes, anyway.
Have a good day!
You can definitely see your enthusiasm within
the article you write. The arena hopes for more passionate writers such as you
who aren't afraid to mention how they believe. Always go after your heart.
Review my web site ... Get the Facts
Hi there to all, how is all, I think every one is getting more
from this website, and your views are fastidious in favor of
new viewers.
my web site: Get More Information
I have read so many content regarding the blogger lovers
except this article is genuinely a nice article, keep it up.
My blog post ... Sac Louis Vuitton
Hi there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my facebook group?
There's a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Thank you
my site ... Sac A Main Louis Vuitton
Yes! Finally something about retractable.
Look at my web blog ... Air Max Pas Cher
Post a Comment
<< Home