Paris!
Day III-Hello! The world is looking a little brighter today, which is odd because it is really rainy. I am getting back into the swing of France and am looking forward to my little adventure. I’ll still feel better when I get to Tours, get my classes, meet up with Tchykita, etc. but for right now I am not feeling so blue. I am posting a couple blogs tonight (if you haven’t noticed) because I haven’t had my computer available since I left. I had a huge problem with my computer charger and the current converter. My computer was out of battery power but I had no way to charge it. We had to go to an electronics store on the Champs-Elysee and finally got the right converter. My mom had to force me to talk to the salesman and explain the problem. I am still nervous about talking. I get so worried about making a mistake that my brain locks up. Also, if I manage to phrase a question grammatically perfect, the person thinks I am fluent and starts talking really fast. I am getting better though, and that is pretty cool.
Yesterday we went to the Louvre and saw all the important pieces. This is my only bit of art snobbery: I really hate the Mona Lisa. It is really unimpressive and not very important to the transition of art history. However, I once again took a picture with my favorite sculpture, Death of a Slave by Michelangelo. I very much enjoy naked people art. We spent a good bit of time there, and I am getting good at being a guide to French art museums.

After that, Mom and Elizabeth went to the Tour Eiffel and I chilled in the room and got all my papers and stuff in order. I also took a nice nap. When they got back we went to dinner in a sweet little restaurant. I had red une verre de vin rouge, des escargots, et tarte fine aux pommes (a glass of red wine, snails and an apple tart). It was very French, and of course delicious. Earlier, in the day, I introduced my mom to the Croque-Madame (a ham sandwich with melted cheese and a fried egg on top), and she enjoyed it very much.

Today we visited my favorite place in the world, the Musee D’Orsay. It has a rich collection of Impressionism and Post-Impressionism paintings among other types. I have read tons of books on the subject and was a good guide to my mom. Once she discovered that Edgar Degas also painted horses, she got all into that. I took a little rest break and sketched a big plaster sculpture called Les chausseurs d’alligator” by Ernest Barrias.


We then got lunch and took a taxi down to the Musee Rodin, but it was closed. A woman ran up and started speaking French all fast telling us the museum was about to close, but I understood her and was able to get things all worked out. Felicitations pour moi!
The humidity has made my hair a big curly mess. Have you ever seen the Friends episode where Monica’s hair turns into a giant poofball in the humidity? Yeah, its kind of like that. I better figure out how to get used to it fast.
Last night we walked down the Champs-Elsyee for dinner and walked by the Arc D'Triomphe, which I have never seen at night.

4 Comments:
Hey who doesn't like naked people art! :)
I am glad you do translate the french stuff cause it hurts my brain to read it.
Did they know what an Apple was there?
Glad you made it safe and sound keep the posts coming.
I like the sketch. Very French. Very bloody. Very violent. Very Molly. I like naked people art except when you can see their feet. Ick.
Molly! I miss you! It sure sounds to me like you do not need to be nervous about your French at all! I bet you'll have forgotten English by the time you get back...that would be unfortunate, because it sounds like a lot of your friends here don't speak much French. Anyway, just wanted to say hello. And I did. Okay, have fun, and enjoy your naked people art and other Frenchy, arty things.
Molly!
I hadn't even noticed you wrote a couple blogs, I thought your computer was not working! I keep writing you e-mails in hopes of one day hearing back from you! (Sigh)
Keep loving the art, it is what makes you so you. You get that excited little gleam in your eye and rattle off a whole art history class in a couple minutes. It is awesome.
Love you, miss you
Post a Comment
<< Home