Sqlut ;es q;ies et ;q fq;ille/
BONJOUR!!! Man, my head hurts from all this thinking and figuring out. It is nice to get to post a new blog, a lot has been going on!! I have no Wireless here, but I can post via the school computers. This poses a problem because the computers are on the other side of town, and the keyboards are French, meaning the keys are in different places and I take forever to type anything that is not chock full of errors. The title above is "Salut mes amies et ma famille!" if I was typing normally. So you all better REALLY appreciate the length of time it took me to do this!Well, I was actually able to watch the Bronco game this weekend, which was a huge treat until they started sucking. I was in a crowded Irish-type bar with a mix of French and Americans. I was the only person in the place pulling for the Broncos, which made it all the harder to bear. My pint of Guiness(how sweet is that)didn't even help much with the disappointment. All in all, it was a really fun night and I met a lot of people despite my team getting the boot.
In the news of the day, I have almost conquered this damn town. Yesterday I got up, rode the bus in, got my student ID card, got my bus pass, finalized my classes(which is a ridiculously long process that involves walking several miles and reading bulletin bards that make no sense.) rode the bus all the way to the north of town and bought food, silverware, food and a hairdryer. The thing is, everything little thing I do here is a huge accomplishment, you know? Things I have done a million times in America are new and challenging here. Just going through the line at the grocery store requires careful observation of others to see how it is done differently. I also need to learn new things like bus schedules and etiquette, how to dress, where to go and where not to and, oh yeah, FRENCH. So I would like to take this moment to pat myself on the back for all that I have done! Oh, and to emphasize the newness and frustration of it all, I am now writing this on a French keyboard in which all the keys are in different spots.
Today has gone really well. I FINALLY found the other Laramie girl. She is in the same boat as me and was similarly glad to find me. We rode the bus in together, went to a class I had (she has yet to figure out her schedule) and met up with our coordinator here. She was extremely helpful, even though she should have had this meeting with us last week! Poor Chiquita and I had to figure most stuff out on our own, which led to much lonliness and unhappiness. Two cool things, there may be a way for me to get WiFi in a library close to my dorm, and I think I might take beginning German. Hear that Becky?
One bad side effect to all the newness is how tired you get. Imagine being on full alert with your brain buzzing for hours and hours on end. Forget getting a social life, I get exhausted by like 21(9pm) at night and sleep until 8am when I have to catch a bus into town. However, I have make some friends and am starting to figure things out about how to live here, which is cool.

5 Comments:
Hey Molly,
I am SO glad to hear things are going better. After seeing what you were up against, I have been really worried. But I am so proud of you and what you are accomplishing. Keep posting and emailing when you can.
Love you much,
Mom
Hey Molly, Thanks for the email today...and the blog update. SO proud of the way you are managing on your own now. I know there will still be ups and downs but you can handle them just fine. Too bad about the Broncos but think of poor me.....I was watching with Grandpa and Jeff !! ha Hang in there. It will all get easier and more fun. Oh yeah, don't forget the studying part. : ) Love you...Grandma
Guiness!!! Yuck :)
Molly on the school computers, do you have access to the usb ports (rectangle conections) Also, what email address do you check? Email me from that one so I know instead of posting here.
Molly,
It sounds to me like you maybe deserve a big bowl of ice cream instead of just a pat on the back for everything you're doing over there.
But learning German in French? Woah. That sounds tough. Confusing, too. Good luck with that!
Miss you!
Post a Comment
<< Home