Les cours
Hello!Considering I have yet to do so, let me fill you all in on how classes work. I finally got my schedule and classes all figured out.
At Tours, the classes are listed on bulletin boards throughout the schools. Apparently, French stuents do not get to choose a single one of their classes, even though they often do not recieve their schedules until the day before class. Exchange students must walk around all over town (there is no actual campus, just buildings and dorms spread throughout town, so next time you whine about having only 10 minutes to walk across campus, shut up) and figure out what classes you want to take. We are pretty much free to take anything we think we can handle. All you do is attend the class and if you like it, you go up to the prof. after class and say, "I am an exchange student. I want to be in your class," and they register you. On top of that, they offer CUEFEE classes especially for exchange students. These classes are easier on the language skills and are on topics like French culture, History, Grammaire, etc.
Here, every class meets only once a week for either 1&1/2 or two hours and you have either one or two grades in that class for the entire semester. Thats it...you take notes all semester for one final test or have one homework grade that is usually a paper. Crazy, huh? There is WAY less busy work than American classes, but imagine what finals are like around here! Since classes are only once a week and worth only 1 or 2 credit hours, I am taking lots of classes. I have 4 CUEFEE classes, 2 translation classes and 2 regular university classes. Transfering them back will be even more complicated!!
On a personal note, a French guy on my floor actually invited me to a thing on Friday. I was so excited that one of them even talked to me, much less invited me to something. Very cool, huh? Unlike him, most of the people on my floor are weird. This one girl smells horrible even when she just took a shower; and another one glares at me everyday but always makes sure to say Bonjour. She will even run out into the hall when I come home, squint at me and forcefully say "Bonjour," in the most unfriendly way possible, and then stands there watching me until I say it back. Crazy.
Tchykita (chiquita) and I are going to go to Paris this weekend. The museums are all free on the first Sunday of the month and we found a relatively inexpensive but very safe hostel to stay at Saturday night. So, I will be in Tours Friday night (and have actual plans!!) and then have a full weekend in Paris! Yeah, I think I could get used to it here...
Also, we ate in a Chinese restaurant yesterday. I am starting to get better at recognizing the French food I eat, but yesterday was crazy. All I know is that I was eating chicken at one point, but the rest is a total mystery.

3 Comments:
So what is a "French thing"?
Maybe that girl's mom told her to be nice to the foreign exchange student, and it is taking everything inside of her to do it (hence the squinty eyes or whatever).
Or maybe French people are just...different.
Jeff, I think Molly told me the French guy invited her to a concert. Molly, you should be specific so you don't worry your uncle.
Love you,
Mom
Post a Comment
<< Home