Thursday, February 16, 2006

Mmmm...Baguettes


Bonjour mes amies!
I just picked up a fresh baguette from the market. And I mean fresh; it is still warm. Baguettes are interesting because when you get a fresh one, like now, it is the most delicious soft-on-the-inside, crunchy-on-the-outside bread there is. But, if you leave that bread on your desk for a day or two (which I have also done) it gets so hard you could knock someone unconscious with it. Fortunately, they only cost about 50 cents and can be eaten fresh with every meal. Today, I had one with butter and jam for breakfast, one with tomatoes and chevre (goat cheese) for lunch, and one with garlic and butter with dinner tonight. And if you’ve never been to France, you have no idea what a real baguette tastes like (Anna, Erin, Amanda and my parents can vouch for this). Truly an invention for a poor college student that was invented before there were even college students to feed.

One really weird thing about living in a new country is that I constantly keep thinking I see people I know. I’ll be walking down Rue Nationale towards class and think I see friends from UW or my mom or something. Then I remember I’m in France. Then I am mad at my brain for being so stupid. I think it is because everything and everyone is so unfamiliar and I keep wanting to see people I know so badly my brain just starts seeing them. It really sucks.

Also, I loved how green everything is here until I figured out why it is so green. It rained ALL DAY today and is expected to do the same tomorrow. And, like a person from Wyoming, I never carry an umbrella. So when I was miles away from my room and it started pouring, I was quite unhappy. At the same time, I didn’t want to go buy another umbrella when I had one already, so I decided to just tough it out. I looked like a drowned and very red rat. One funny thing, the protesters that have been out all week weren’t today. I guess their cause wasn’t worth getting wet for. this is a pic of the front of my dorm building.
I put a bunch of pics up in my room. It makes it nice to see everyone. One thing that sucks though, since we all went digital I have no hardcopies of pictures. My most recent pictures are from San Francisco this summer. Good idea for a care package .
More naked people pictures! This is a sketch I did of a crouching woman statue in the Musee Rodin.
One cool thing about the French is their love of dogs. Everyone here owns dogs and they are allowed everywhere. Stores, buses, trains, etc; everywhere allows dogs. They are all incredibly well-behaved too. Except I did see a Labrador today that was pulling so hard on the leash it was practically choking itself. I guess French labs are the same as American ones. The one bad thing about this though, is that no one bothers to clean up after their canines so you have to watch your step constantly.
Also, I have lived for 4 1/2 weeks without a phone or internet in my room. Think about that for awhile.

5 Comments:

At 8:08 AM, Blogger jmmhooper said...

Wow from your scetch it looks like the french woman are pretty hairy!

I think the german baguettes are pretty good, cross the border and compare. Plan any weekend trips there or just stay with your snobby french folk? :)

 
At 8:11 AM, Blogger jmmhooper said...

Yes I spelled sketch wrong...so zip it!! :)

 
At 5:40 PM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Well, at least the French aren't totally crazy. Anyone whol ikes dogs gets a "Thumbs up" in my book.
I don't know if I could have a baguette three times a day no matter how good it may be. But I just always need a lot of variety in my life.
Miss you!

 
At 1:44 PM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

I finally got your post card in the mail. I must assume, however, that the French boy you sent must have gotten lost in the mail. Silly postal service ;)
Much love as always,
Cait

 
At 9:04 PM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Actually, judging by the photo on this page, it looks to me like your Uncle Jeff is pretty hairy. Perhaps you can fix him up with one of those hairy French girls and they can have pups. Just kidding! I know he's spoken for! Sorry!

 

Post a Comment

<< Home