Par-eee

Hello all!
It seems like forever since I got near a computer! This is definitely a new lifestyle for me.
This weekend was lovely even though it started out really rough. I got up late and we missed the bus to the train station. We were freaking out about missing the train, but I ran over to the main building and called a cab. Not cheap, but at least we got to the train on time!

In Paris, we took the Metro into the main part of town and walked around the Hotel de Ville area until we eventually got to the Notre Dame cathedral (we had left our map on the bus and were wandering around a little aimlessly). We walked through that, checked out some stores and went to the Louvre. We were going to just use the bathrooms, but we decided to get tickets and spent the afternoon there. Tchykita likes to draw too, so we spent the whole time drawing!! One of my dreams come true!

After that, we grabbed a sandwich (we spent the whole time half-starved to save money) and took the Metro to Montmartre. The area is beautiful; its up on a hill over-looking Paris. We went inside Sacré Coeur, which I had never been inside before. It was amazing! The inside has these religious designs and pictures made out of miniscule mosaic tiles. After that, we grabbed the metro to our hostel and checked in for the night. The hostel was really nice! It was big, had its own bathroom; etc.
The next morning (after stuffing ourselves on the complimentary breakfast) we went to the Musée de L'Armee and saw Napolean's Tomb. It was insane to have so much grandeur for one man. But, the French have so few good military men I guess they have to honor the ones they have.

After that, we went to the Musée Rodin and the Musée D'Orsay and drew some more. It was, again, amazing. After all the museums were closed we walked around and shopped some more and went back to the train station. On the way back, we sat across from this French couple who were really nice. The husband and I spent the whole time talking sports. He explained Rugby to me, while I tried to explain American Football and the Superbowl to him. We exchanged email addresses, and they even offered to tape the game for me.

This weekend was exceptional, but I got kind of homesick. I think because I had been to Paris with my family and friends, being back there reminded me of them. It was hard to deal with a couple times. But, I did, and had a wonderful time.
I have been missing the US a bit, especially the food. A person can only eat so much ham, cheese and bread. In the grocery store, a tiny jar of peanut butter runs at 4.35 € and rabbit and duck are cheaper than chicken and beef. So last night Tchykita and I went all out an made hamburgers.

It was hard to find cheap beef here (or beef at all for that matter)but we got some ground beef, tomatoes, lettuce and buns. Believe it or not, she had a bottle of ketchup too! We both like them medium rare, so I cooked the burgers nice and bloody. Some of the people on her floor came in the kitchen and laughed to see the two Americans scarfing hamburgers. Oh, they were so delicious.
I have great pics from this weekend, and I will try to figure out how to post them this week!

4 Comments:
Steak. Dripping in sauce and onions and mushrooms.
Ooey gooey nachos. Taco Bell...
Chicken McNuggets covered in barbeque sauce.
Heeheehee. Craving American food now?? Oh I'm so eevil.
Sounds like a great weekend, even if drawing and art, in general isn't my thing... And I'm looking forward to seeing those pictures. Anna is not very nice to be teasing you with such delicious food.
Miss ya!
Anna! I am so glad you can comment! Even though your comment is terribly evil. You better air mail me some steak and nachos now.
Wow...those pictures are amazing!! Where is the one with the fingers at? Glad you had fun in Paris Molly!
Post a Comment
<< Home