Angers!!
Hey all! I hope you all had a good weekend. I got to go see Tchykita’s host family in Angers, the Granveaus’, with her again. It was just what both of us needed, to get out of Tours, away from the strikes and get to be kids again. In Angers, Tchykita and I are “les filles” and always have a blast. This Saturday we didn’t do much besides homework (independent assignments we kind of made-up ourselves), and then we went in to see Eliot’s (the middle boy) basketball game. He is very into basketball, and it was just like going to see one of Roxie’s games in the States but with all those little Frenchie things that make everything here different. It was crazy watching French parents jumping up and yelling “Aller! (Go!)” and “Bouger! (Move!)” at their kids the same way Americans do. I was quite tickled to see it. That night, we had an incredible dinner of mussels in a cream sauce. The food there is always homecooked and AMAZING. The only bad thing is that for lunch Agnes served a very French dish that no one bothered to inform me of what it was until after we ate, even though I should have been tipped off when, beforehand, Philippe kept telling me that they eat ALL of the “couchon (pig)” in France. We were eating pig nose..apparently they eat that and I ate it all chopped up. It tasted just fine, but ugh.
That night, Tchkita and I watched CSI in French (it is weird even seeing TV now, and I think it’ll be weird to see it in English again). Even though we were both exhausted, Tchykita and I stayed up brainstorming where to go for our next vacation. Since school has been such a bust, we want to leave France after a good vacation.
The next day we went to an International dog show right there in Angers. Agnes’ parents have a dog called a “teckel standard” (at least that’s what it is in French) named Vidoc that they show. It was pretty cool, they had every dog breed you could imagine. It was cool to get to see things that aren’t all touristy, but everyday cool stuff that I would never had had the opportunity to see otherwise. Unfortunately, my camera died and I couldn’t get any pics of the dog show.
Well, I’m just chilling at my dorm today. The general strike is taking place today and the buses aren’t running, so I once again can’t go to class. I have been assured that I will receive all my credits, but I have no idea how. It is hard to pass tests for classes I have only been to a handful of times.
Also, Madame Vialpando will be coming through Tours this Friday, and I am going to make every effort to see her!

5 Comments:
I am very glad that you are able to have some fun and, well, enriching (it's 8AM, I couldn't think of a cooler word) things to do in France, despite the strike...those French kids, I tell ya.
I also thought your blog title was angers, like things that make you angry...not a place. Just so you know.
Chuck Norris...his beard looks like it was sponge painted on...
Glad you could hang with some NICE, SANE Frenchies, Molly! That family sounds adorable. But I cannot believe you ate pig nose.
Be careful, I hear they are water cannoning every college student in sight now!
Miss V!!!! You must see her! How wonderful!
Oh, and Molly, I know you are busy with the riots, political turmoil, and social unrest of Western Europe, but don't forget to keep up on the pressing news of America!
Here is a link to keep you informed on the important American news of the day:
http://cbs13.com/national/local_story_088125458.html
Yeah Chuck Norris should get a real beard!!
Post a Comment
<< Home