Chocolat!
Hello all!I just managed to take a test today even though there is another general strik going on! It was an epic journey! I waited for a bus that was 15 minutes late (funny story...bus drivers ususally are included in the strikes, but apparently they didn't get paid for the last strike and decided to work today. That shows how much people here care for the cause versus unpaid time off), rode it through who knows where (the regular route was blocked by protesters), got off the bus near the train station, ran/walked briskly for about a mile through town, through the protesters, down the street and got into my class only about 5 minutes late. And all this was to take a freaking test. I had better get those credits!
Well, in CPE news, late last week Jaques Chirac decided to sign the controversial bill into action. He made a few small changes (like changing the number of years that an employee can easily get fired from 2 years to 1) but this did not appease protestors. They called for a new round of general strikes (which is what is going on today) and universities continue to be closed. There is really nothing that labor unions or student protestors can do at this point, and the strike today is more out of anger than anything. There is even a possibility things might open again soon. However, my academic year is pretty much in ruins, and UW is attempting to pick up the pieces as I try to do the best I can here. I technically only have 3 more weeks of school, with a 2 week Spring Break coming up. Can you believe that there will still be a Spring Break after all this time off?
I am happy though, because my weekend was filled with chocolate! They had a "Chocolat en fete (Chocolate fair)" in which they filled a huge hall with confectionaires from every chocolaterie in the region.
They even had chocolate boobs, because this is France and they have to have boobs everywhere.There were booths with amazing chocolate sculptures, creative ideas, and delicious free samples. That is one thing I love about France, the idea of "degustation," or tasting. Every type of fete in Tours usually has lots of free samples and the people running the booths are usually very eager to try to get you to taste their product, which is great unless you are at a wine fair (that can cause some fast problems when you accidently get drunk at 11 am).

The Chocolat fair was awesome, and I left with a full stomach of chocolate and a couple treats. The weather has been lovely too, and I have been in quite a good mood lately.

Bisou!

7 Comments:
Hmmm...the internet is being funny or the user :)
Strange pictures I envision from your post. I see masses of students protesting during the week. Crowds yelling and cars honking, then I see on weekends this tranquil utopia where everyone is laughing and prancing around and eating chocolate!
Man, France is a strange place!
WE don't know anyone drunk at ll in the a.m DO we Molly, dear? :)
Ok so I had some pity for you in the beginnign of the blog, but how am I supposed to feel after I read about this chocolate fair thing? All I have to say is I better be getting some chocolate.... Anyway, I miss you terrribly as always. Love,
:)Cait
Well when you eat chocolat all day who is not in a good mood.
Why are you wearing your PJS to the fair? :)
All of that chocolate looks and sounds so good...I may have to go get myself a Hershey bar now...
And I like that shirt. I think it's pretty.
Yeah, after all the "I can't wear your clothes, they are too lacey/flowery/girlie, etc" she goes to France and starts wearing pink satin shirts with sparkly flowers. Then dyes her hair black. Then gets drunk at 11am. Then starts protests. Sheesh.
Post a Comment
<< Home