Pauvre chevaux!
Bonjour!I hope you are all doing well. I am caught up in French limbo, as usual. As I predicted, the student/union crusade is not yet over. While the controversial element of the job law (CPE) has been rescinded and the general strikes have stopped, students and unions are using their political power to see what else they can get. France is in a very precarious position. It is swelling with a new wave of people who are unhappy with the status quo, and yet has a general population that is determined that French life remains unchanged. I have been reading up on the huge strike that shook France in May 1968, and I can tell you it is nothing like this one, despite comparisons in the news. This is not just a group of anarchist students mad with the government and police brutality. In some ways it is more superficial, and in others it really delves into the problems in France. I think it is a silly movement that is more about principle and power than any actual legislative policy. I think it has
roots going deep into French society, and only illustrates a part of the larger problem France faces. Also, students here are practically living in the classroom buildings that are blocked and look as if they haven’t bathed for weeks. Its really gross, and I here they are also doing this at the Sorbonne in Paris. I don’t want to sound too harsh, but they honestly remind me of a big nest of rats.In my news, I failed one midterm and passed another last week. I have no idea yet how or even if these grades will count towards anything, but I am trying not to let things get to me. I was really depressed after failing that test and finding out I missed another (if that gives you any idea about how crazy it is here), but then I saw an art exhibit with National Geographic-type images of poor and working people in India. It made me think and realize that I have an incredibly privileged life and am stupid for letting little things always get to me. How many other 19 year olds have been able to do the things I have? Or have the family and friends that I do? A lot of this school stuff is out of my power and all I can do is go to classes as often as I can and do my best. This will probably be my only chance to live in Europe, and I should try to enjoy as much as I can. Also, spring has sprung and Tours is lovely right now.
I took this picture of one of fountains in front of the Hotel de Ville. Plus, things are actually winding down. This is technically the last week of classes, but there are still no classes. I think I am ready to just cut my losses, throw everything into UW’s lap to deal with, and enjoy the rest of the time I am here. Traveling always improves my mood, and a Croatian/American girl that I am friends with is also stuck here this next week and we are going to try to plan a vacation. And after that, London! I have learned and done SO much here…but unfortunately none of it has been in a classroom.
Oh, and you want to know something horrible? French people eat horsemeat! I can forgive them for snails and rabbits, but not for this. They even have it in the grocery store. Here’s a pic I took. “Cheval” is French for horse. Tchykita wanted to try it, but that is the one thing I will not eat. Tawny would never forgive me.

3 Comments:
Just don't tell Tawny
Yeah, just let UW deal with it. That's what all of those "coordinators" are paid to do, anyway.
Hey Molly,
I think you should turn in your blog entries to UW. You have done a great job of explaining this law and all the controversy it has caused. Your in-depth commentary of French culture is incredibly insightful.
Also, what can you say about people that eat horses? (DON'T DO IT!!!)
Love,
Mom
Post a Comment
<< Home